New Trip
  • Your Trip is Empty
View My Trip ›

Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto

  • Dates:  October 28, 2016 - October 29, 2016
  • Next Occurrence Oct 28, 2016
  • Recurring daily
  • Times:  Starts at 8:00 PM
  • Host:   Grand Rapids Symphony
    Location:  DeVos Performance Hall
    24 Ransom Ave. NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
  • Phone:  616.454.9451 x 4
  • Category:  Music
  • Price Per Person:  Tickets start at $18 adults, $5 students

Russian Masters-Carl St. Clair, Music Director of the Pacific Symphony has a special affinity for the works of these two Russian greats-having been inspired by the interpretations of his mentor Leonard Bernstein. These two works between them define the Russia of the Czars (Tchaikovsky) and the turbulent Stalin era (Shostakovich). The Tchaikovsky is hands down the most beloved of all violin concertos and a virtuoso tour de force. It contains a world of moods from sweet melancholy to the frenzy of a Cossack dance. Shostakovich premiered his Tenth Symphony just after the death of Josef Stalin who had tormented Shostakovich off and on since 1936. The second movement is actually a coded swipe at Stalin’s pomposity. Overall it is a work of grandeur and great emotional sweep whose finale will have you cheering to the rafters.

Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto
  • Times:  Starts at 8:00 PM
  • October 28, 2016 to October 29, 2016
  • DeVos Performance Hall
  • Tickets start at $18 adults, $5 students
  • Recurring daily