New Trip
  • Your Trip is Empty
View My Trip ›

Grand Rapids Symphony's Great Eras 20/21st Century Concert

View Map

20/21st Century: Celebrating Women
May 3
John Varineau, conductor
Ava Ordman, trombone
• JOAN TOWER: Chamber Dance
• ANNA CLYNE: Within Her Arms
• RUTH CRAWFORD SEEGER: Andante for Strings
• RUTH CRAWFORD SEEGER: Rissolty, Rossolty
• DAVID BEIDENBENDER: Concerto for Trombone (Grand Rapids co-commission)

Ava Ordman, for nearly 25 years, served as Principal Trombonist of the Grand Rapids Symphony, frequently appearing as soloist with the orchestra. Now a professor of music at Michigan State University, Ordman returns for a concert of 20th and 21st century music, most of it by women. Composers included Grammy Award-winner Joan Tower and early 20th century composer Ruth Crawford Seeger who also happened to be stepmother to folksinger and songwriter Pete Seeger.

Grand Rapids Symphony's Great Eras 20/21st Century Concert
  • Times:  Starts at 8:00 PM
  • May 3, 2019 to May 3, 2019
  • St. Cecilia Music Center
  • Tickets are $26 adults, $5 students