New Trip
  • Your Trip is Empty
View My Trip ›

Grand Rapids Symphony's Rhythm of the Dance

View Map

January 18-19
Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Pablo Sainz Villegas, guitar
Members of the Grand Rapids Ballet
• FALLA: Suite No. 1 from The Three Cornered Hat
• RODRIGO: Concierto de Aranjuez
• FRANK: Three Latin American Dances
• PIAZZOLLA: Two Tangos
• GINASTERA: Four Dances from Estancia

Sultry, sensual rhythms of Latino-flavored music from both sides of the Atlantic will take the winter chill away in this program. Brazilian-born Marcelo Lehninger conducts music by two Argentinean composers including Astor Piazzolla, master of the tango. Spanish guitarist Pablo Sainz Villegas, winner of the Andres Segovia Award and Gold Medalist in the first Christopher Parkening International Guitar Competition, joins the orchestra as soloist in Joaquin Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez. Not only is the Spanish-flavored concerto the most popular work of all time for guitar and orchestra, it includes one of the most hauntingly beautiful English horn solos in the repertoire. Grammy Award-winning composer Gabriela Lena Frank, an American of Peruvian descent, gives a fresh, new spin on music of Latin America. 8 p.m. Friday and Saturday, Jan. 18-19, in DeVos Performance Hall, 303 Monroe Ave. NW. Tickets start at $18 adults, $5 students.

Grand Rapids Symphony's Rhythm of the Dance
  • Times:  8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
  • January 18, 2019 to January 19, 2019
  • DeVos Performance Hall
  • Tickets start at $18 adults, $5 students
  • Recurring daily