New Trip
  • Your Trip is Empty
View My Trip ›

Richard and Helen DeVos Classical Series: Mozart's Requiem

View Map

BACH arr. BERIO Contrapunctus XIX from Art of the Fugue
LISZT Totentanz
MOZART ed. Robbins Landon Requiem

Marcelo Lehninger Conductor | Joyce Yang Piano | Margot Rood Soprano | Olivia Cosio Mezzo-Soprano | Taylor Staton Tenor | Wei Wu Bass | Grand Rapids Symphony Chorus Pearl Shangkuan, Director

“The unforgettable climax to the 1984 film ‘Amadeus’”

The genius of Mozart revealed itself early, developed swiftly, and vanished all too soon. Inspired by the music of Bach, Mozart worked feverishly on his Requiem, which he would not live to complete. The Grand Rapids Symphony Chorus joins the orchestra for Mozart’s Requiem. Also featured is a movement from Bach’s The Art of the Fugue. The delightful Joyce Yang, a Grammy-nominated pianist and Van Cliburn Competition medalist, plays Liszt’s diabolical Totentanz for piano and orchestra.

“(Joyce Yang’s) attention to detail and clarity is as impressive as her agility, balance and velocity” – Washington Post

Richard and Helen DeVos Classical Series: Mozart's Requiem
  • Times:  Starts at 8:00 PM
  • March 26, 2021 to March 27, 2021
  • DeVos Performance Hall
  • See website for details